Rhode Island Convention Center

Dunkin’ Donuts Center Expansion & Renovation

Project Overview

The Dunkin’ Donuts Center, affectionately known as The Dunk, was built in 1972 to accommodate the Providence College men’s basketball program and local cultural events. To attract larger national and regional events, an extensive three-phase renovation began when the RI Convention Center Authority purchased it in December, 2005.

Project Specifications

Contract Amount: $7,400,000

Total Project Value: $62,000,000

Construction Manager: Gilbane Building Company

Architect: Ellerbe Becket

Mechanical Engineer: Lankford & Associates

Facility Type: Athletics/Entertainment

Facility Size: 320,000 sq. ft.

Schedule: September 2006 – November 2007

Project Location: Providence, RI

Services Provided

Retrofit

HVAC

Fire Protection

Fabrication

Download Case Study (PDF)

Highlights / Achievements

100,000 man hours in hyper-track schedule

Expansion to second fabrication shop for copper tubing during peak production periods

Fabrication and installation required ahead of evolving design

Modular construction methodology demanded intense phasing and coordination

Cradle-to-grave project documentation

LEED certication project

Value Delivered

Arden reworked the building’s existing mechanical systems and completely upgraded the chiller and boiler plant to support the significant renovation, which featured new seats, a sound system and video scoreboard, facility and concession upgrades, luxury suites, a redesigned concourse and lobby, and a bridge connector to the Convention Center. Prefabrication expertise ensured high-quality construction within challenging, fast-track schedule milestones.

About Arden Companies

Complex building systems demand technically advanced solutions. As the holding company for Arden Engineering Constructors, MJ Daly, Unique Metal Works, Corporate Mechanical of New England, and Earthwise Energy Technologies, Arden Building Companies provide a robust skill set that covers a wide range of services including: engineering design, mechanical construction and maintenance services, electrical construction, sheet metal fabrication, sprinkler construction and service, and co-generation “green” energy. Our resources run deep and our ability to listen to our customers and create financially and energy efficient solutions keep us the one-stop provider of mechanical building solutions in New England.

Contact Arden Engineering Constructors:

Engineering Tim Elliott telliott@ardeneng.com
Service Jeff Potter jpotter@ardeneng.com
Construction John Puniello jpuniello@ardeneng.com
Electrical Rob Cote rcote@ardeneng.com

 

Go to Arden Engineering Constructors

Arden Engineering Constructors, LLC
505 Narragansett Park Drive
Pawtucket, RI 02861
Tel: 401-727-3500
Fax: 401-727-3540

Contact MJ Daly:

President Edward Carvalho ecarvalho@mjdalyllc.com
Safety Monica Arbo marbo@mjdalyllc.com
Design/Engineering Tim Elliott telliott@mjdalyllc.com
Mechanical Construction Dan Nelson dnelson@mjdalyllc.com
Fire Protection Paul Evon pevon@mjdalyllc.com
Fabrication/Wholesale Mark Genova mgenova@mjdalyllc.com
Building Services 24/7 Salie Cameron scameron@mjdalyllc.com
FIKE Fire Alarm & Suppression Sales Engineer Kris Pavelko kpavelko@mjdalyllc.com

 

Go to MJ Daly

MJ Daly
110 Mattatuck Height Road
Waterbury, CT 06705
Tel: (203) 753-5131
Fax: (203) 597-0227

Contact Earthwise Energy:

Jeff Potter Vice President jpotter@ardeneng.com

 

Go to Earthwise Energy

Earthwise Energy Technologies
505 Narragansett Park Drive
Pawtucket, RI 02861-2284
Tel: (401) 365-1575
Fax: (401) 312-009

Contact Unique Metal Works:

Norman Brothers General Manager 401-726-4900 nbrothers@uniquemtl.com

 

Go to Unique Metal Works

Unique Metal Works
489 Narragansett Park Drive
Pawtucket, RI 02861
Tel: 401-726-4900
Fax: 401-728-9180

Contact Corporate Mechanical:

Bill Welch President wwelch@corpmech.com

 

Go to Corporate Mechanical

Corporate Mechanical
1501 Main Street
Tewksbury, MA 01876
Tel: (978) 851-8900
Fax: (978) 851-8901