PSEG Energy Technologies, Inc.

Quonset Point Cogeneration Plant

Project Overview

When PSEG Energy Technologies, Inc. proposed to build, own, and operate a 7.5 megawatt cogeneration plant to sell electricity and steam to Toray Plastics in North Kingstown, RI, Arden was selected as the construction manager.

Project Specifications

Contract Amount: $8,000,000

Total Project Value: $8,000,000

Construction Manager: Arden Engineering Constructors, LLC

Architect/Mechanical Engineer: N.K. Engineers, Inc.

Facility Type: Manufacturing

Facility Size: 250,000 sq. ft.

Schedule: September 2001- June 2002

Project Location: North Kingstown, RI

Download Case Study (PDF)

Services Provided

New construction

HVAC

Plumbing

Fire protection

Highlights / Achievements

7.5 megawatt gas turbine generator

60,000 lbs. per hour heat recovery steam generator

Dual fuel system: natural gas/fired gas turbine

Generator with low sulfur diesel back-up

Value Delivered

Arden managed all aspects of construction for this onsite cogeneration plant, featuring a 7.5 megawatt gas turbine generator (GTG) with a heat recovery steam generator (HRSG) equipped with supplemental (duct) ring, to provide up to 60,000 lbs. of steam per hour. For operational flexibility, the plant included a dual-fuel system. The GTG is normally run on natural gas, with low sulfur diesel as the backup fuel. The plant also features all auxiliaries necessary to run the gas turbine and generator, including a local control panel and evaporative inlet aircooler for enhanced power production in the summer.

About Arden Companies

Complex building systems demand technically advanced solutions. As the holding company for Arden Engineering Constructors, MJ Daly, Unique Metal Works, Corporate Mechanical of New England, and Earthwise Energy Technologies, Arden Building Companies provide a robust skill set that covers a wide range of services including: engineering design, mechanical construction and maintenance services, electrical construction, sheet metal fabrication, sprinkler construction and service, and co-generation “green” energy. Our resources run deep and our ability to listen to our customers and create financially and energy efficient solutions keep us the one-stop provider of mechanical building solutions in New England.

Contact Arden Engineering Constructors:

Engineering Tim Elliott telliott@ardeneng.com
Service Jeff Potter jpotter@ardeneng.com
Construction John Puniello jpuniello@ardeneng.com
Electrical Rob Cote rcote@ardeneng.com

 

Go to Arden Engineering Constructors

Arden Engineering Constructors, LLC
505 Narragansett Park Drive
Pawtucket, RI 02861
Tel: 401-727-3500
Fax: 401-727-3540

Contact MJ Daly:

President Edward Carvalho ecarvalho@mjdalyllc.com
Safety Monica Arbo marbo@mjdalyllc.com
Design/Engineering Tim Elliott telliott@mjdalyllc.com
Mechanical Construction Dan Nelson dnelson@mjdalyllc.com
Fire Protection Paul Evon pevon@mjdalyllc.com
Fabrication/Wholesale Mark Genova mgenova@mjdalyllc.com
Building Services 24/7 Salie Cameron scameron@mjdalyllc.com
FIKE Fire Alarm & Suppression Sales Engineer Kris Pavelko kpavelko@mjdalyllc.com

 

Go to MJ Daly

MJ Daly
110 Mattatuck Height Road
Waterbury, CT 06705
Tel: (203) 753-5131
Fax: (203) 597-0227

Contact Earthwise Energy:

Jeff Potter Vice President jpotter@ardeneng.com

 

Go to Earthwise Energy

Earthwise Energy Technologies
505 Narragansett Park Drive
Pawtucket, RI 02861-2284
Tel: (401) 365-1575
Fax: (401) 312-009

Contact Unique Metal Works:

Norman Brothers General Manager 401-726-4900 nbrothers@uniquemtl.com

 

Go to Unique Metal Works

Unique Metal Works
489 Narragansett Park Drive
Pawtucket, RI 02861
Tel: 401-726-4900
Fax: 401-728-9180

Contact Corporate Mechanical:

Bill Welch President wwelch@corpmech.com

 

Go to Corporate Mechanical

Corporate Mechanical
1501 Main Street
Tewksbury, MA 01876
Tel: (978) 851-8900
Fax: (978) 851-8901