Brown University

Sidney E. Frank Hall for Life Sciences

Project Overview

Devoted to the study of human biology, the Sidney E. Frank Hall for Life Sciences represents the largest capital project on the Brown University campus to date. Speed was of paramount importance in the delivery of fully commissioned systems for this 169,000-square-foot, state-of-the-art research and teaching facility.

Project Specifications

Contract Amount: $17,700,000

Total Project Value: $95,000,000

Construction Manager: Gilbane Building Company

Architect/Mechanical Engineer: Ballinger

Facility Type: Higher Education Research

Facility Size: 400,000 sq. ft.

Schedule: December 2004 – July 2006

Project Location: Providence, RI

Download Case Study (PDF)

Services Provided

New construction

HVAC

Clean/High purity piping

Plumbing

Fabrication

Highlights / Achievements

HVAC/Plumbing to support 30 laboratories, 10 conference rooms, 62 offices, 98-seat seminar room, vivarium, and research support

Animal care facility required precise humidity/temperature controls

Fast-track project delivery

Prefabrication of mechanical room

Minimal disruption to adjacent operations

3D computer coordination

Silver LEED certied

Value Delivered

Working within a challenging, fast-track schedule, Arden constructed all HVAC and plumbing systems to include sophisticated medical gas systems and reverse osmosis de-ionized (RODI) piping to support full-service research activities. Arden’s prefabrication expertise ensured high-quality construction while delivering significant time savings on a challenging, fast-track schedule.

About Arden Companies

Complex building systems demand technically advanced solutions. As the holding company for Arden Engineering Constructors, MJ Daly, Unique Metal Works, and Corporate Mechanical of New England, Arden Building Companies provide a robust skill set that covers a wide range of services including: engineering design, mechanical construction and maintenance services, electrical construction, sheet metal fabrication, sprinkler construction and service, and co-generation “green” energy. Our resources run deep and our ability to listen to our customers and create financially and energy efficient solutions keep us the one-stop provider of mechanical building solutions in New England.

Contact Arden Engineering Constructors:

Engineering Tim Elliott telliott@ardeneng.com
Service Jeff Potter jpotter@ardeneng.com
Construction John Puniello jpuniello@ardeneng.com
Electrical Rob Cote rcote@ardeneng.com

 

Arden Engineering Constructors, LLC
505 Narragansett Park Drive
Pawtucket, RI 02861
Tel: 401-727-3500
Fax: 401-727-3540

Go to Arden Engineering Constructors

Contact MJ Daly:

President Edward Carvalho ecarvalho@mjdalyllc.com
Safety Monica Arbo marbo@mjdalyllc.com
Design/Engineering Tim Elliott telliott@mjdalyllc.com
Mechanical Construction Dan Nelson dnelson@mjdalyllc.com
Fire Protection Paul Evon pevon@mjdalyllc.com
Fabrication/Wholesale Mark Genova mgenova@mjdalyllc.com
Building Services 24/7 Salie Cameron scameron@mjdalyllc.com
FIKE Fire Alarm & Suppression Sales Engineer Kris Pavelko kpavelko@mjdalyllc.com

 

MJ Daly
110 Mattatuck Height Road
Waterbury, CT 06705
Tel: (203) 753-5131
Fax: (203) 597-0227

Go to MJ Daly

Contact Unique Metal Works:

Norman Brothers General Manager 401-726-4900 nbrothers@uniquemtl.com

 

Unique Metal Works
489 Narragansett Park Drive
Pawtucket, RI 02861
Tel: 401-726-4900
Fax: 401-728-9180

Go to Unique Metal Works

Contact Corporate Mechanical:

Bill Welch President wwelch@corpmech.com

 

Corporate Mechanical
1501 Main Street
Tewksbury, MA 01876
Tel: (978) 851-8900
Fax: (978) 851-8901

Go to Corporate Mechanical