Bristol-Myers Squibb

Large Scale Cell Culture Project - Phase 1

Project Overview

Arden’s extensive capacity and experience in the prefabrication of pharmaceutical process piping helped BMS achieve extraordinary schedule targets in the construction of this large-scale and complex life sciences facility.

Project Detail

In the fight against serious disease, biologics – or protein-derived therapies – are playing an increasingly prominent role. Pharmaceutical giant Bristol-Myers Squibb (BMS) is leading the advancement of this research application by
investing an estimated one billion dollars in the construction of a 1.5 million-square-foot biologics manufacturing plant in Devens, MA. The magnitude of
the BMS Large Scale Cell Culture (LSCC) project and the speed with which it was
completed is unprecedented.

Download Case Study (PDF)

Project Specifications

Contract Amount: $18,000,000

Total Project Value: $660,000,000

Construction Manager: Parsons/Skanska USA

Architect: Fluor

Mechanical Engineer: Parsons Group

Facility Type: Pharmaceutical

Facility Size: 400,000 SF

Schedule: March 2008-April 2008

Project Location: Devens, MA

Highlights / Achievements

100,000 Man Hours

Hyper-track Schedule

Pipe Fabrication and Installation Ahead of Evolving Design

Modular Construction Process

Intense Phasing and Coordination

Expansion of Fabrication Capabilities during Peak Production Periods

Building Information Modeling

LEED Certication Project

Value Delivered

Arden’s extensive capacity and experience in the prefabrication of pharmaceutical process piping helped BMS achieve extraordinary schedule targets in the construction of this large-scale and complex life sciences facility. Having invested 100,000 man hours within a dynamic hyper-track schedule, Arden utilized modular construction so that process and utility piping were fabricated into steel frames prior to installation.

About Arden Companies

Complex building systems demand technically advanced solutions. As the holding company for Arden Engineering Constructors, MJ Daly, Unique Metal Works, Corporate Mechanical of New England, and Earthwise Energy Technologies, Arden Building Companies provide a robust skill set that covers a wide range of services including: engineering design, mechanical construction and maintenance services, electrical construction, sheet metal fabrication, sprinkler construction and service, and co-generation “green” energy. Our resources run deep and our ability to listen to our customers and create financially and energy efficient solutions keep us the one-stop provider of mechanical building solutions in New England.

Contact Arden Engineering Constructors:

Engineering Tim Elliott telliott@ardeneng.com
Service Jeff Potter jpotter@ardeneng.com
Construction John Puniello jpuniello@ardeneng.com
Electrical Rob Cote rcote@ardeneng.com

 

Go to Arden Engineering Constructors

Arden Engineering Constructors, LLC
505 Narragansett Park Drive
Pawtucket, RI 02861
Tel: 401-727-3500
Fax: 401-727-3540

Contact MJ Daly:

President Edward Carvalho ecarvalho@mjdalyllc.com
Safety Monica Arbo marbo@mjdalyllc.com
Design/Engineering Tim Elliott telliott@mjdalyllc.com
Mechanical Construction Dan Nelson dnelson@mjdalyllc.com
Fire Protection Paul Evon pevon@mjdalyllc.com
Fabrication/Wholesale Mark Genova mgenova@mjdalyllc.com
Building Services 24/7 Salie Cameron scameron@mjdalyllc.com
FIKE Fire Alarm & Suppression Sales Engineer Kris Pavelko kpavelko@mjdalyllc.com

 

Go to MJ Daly

MJ Daly
110 Mattatuck Height Road
Waterbury, CT 06705
Tel: (203) 753-5131
Fax: (203) 597-0227

Contact Earthwise Energy:

Jeff Potter Vice President jpotter@ardeneng.com

 

Go to Earthwise Energy

Earthwise Energy Technologies
505 Narragansett Park Drive
Pawtucket, RI 02861-2284
Tel: (401) 365-1575
Fax: (401) 312-009

Contact Unique Metal Works:

Norman Brothers General Manager 401-726-4900 nbrothers@uniquemtl.com

 

Go to Unique Metal Works

Unique Metal Works
489 Narragansett Park Drive
Pawtucket, RI 02861
Tel: 401-726-4900
Fax: 401-728-9180

Contact Corporate Mechanical:

Bill Welch President wwelch@corpmech.com

 

Go to Corporate Mechanical

Corporate Mechanical
1501 Main Street
Tewksbury, MA 01876
Tel: (978) 851-8900
Fax: (978) 851-8901